Untitled Document
Untitled Document
in this section
Untitled Document
  Most Recent
Untitled Document
Untitled Document



Excellence acknowledged at BFA 2017 Awards

Category: | 0 Replies

Chadain Greaves of the newly-promoted Porey Spring was the talk of the town when he copped the President's Award recently during the Barbados Football Association's Awards Ceremony for the 2017 season. With the top players across the all divisions and competitions being honoured for their stellar performances over this year, Greaves took home the inaugural award as he was lauded by BFA and CFU President for his contribution both on and off the field for the now-Premier League side.

The final award presented for the night, Harris said that the presentation was merited to the young man as he showed and shared a spirit of community within his team, the likes of which had not been seen in Barbadian football for some time. Noting that it helped to see the side promoted to the Premier League, Harris said that he hoped that all clubs and teams could share the same spirit that Greaves had shown.

Rianna Cyrus and Zeco Edmee copped the coveted top Senior Female and Male Players of the Year while David Ward was named Coach of the Year. Cyrus, who ended her year as one of the Women's League top scorers with 18 goals, helped her team to their second title in four years after they edged out the many time champions National Sports Council on goal-difference. She also picked up Best Midfielder as her team almost took a clean sweep of the awards in the League. Although Notre Dame finished in fifth place in the Digicel Premier League, national striker Edmee showed he was worth his salt, rocking the nets 16 times during the competition this year to take the Most Goals in the top tier.

Weymouth Wales won the League, the Reserve League and the Champions Cup this year and fittingly so, Ward was named Coach of the Year. He did not do it all alone and his right-hand man Alphonso Lewis took home the Manager of the Year prize.

On the Junior side of things, Dishon Howell was the Most Outstanding Male after a year that saw him come off the bench to score twice in a senior international friendly as well as captain st. Leonard's Boys to a double-crown victory in the Barbados Secondary Schools Football League. Caitlin Padmore was the top Junior Female as she had a hefty hand in racking up the goals that secured the UWI women the title this year. The 14 year-old netted 12 times.

Speaking during his short address, BFA and Caribbean Football Union President Randy Harris said that the night belonged to clubs and players and he urged them to put their faith in him. “I want to thank the clubs of Barbados for supporting us. Without their support we would just be continuing in confusion and I believe at this time that all of you might have noticed in the last couple of years the BFA has been sailing smoothly along. I want to thank the clubs for that and I want to assure them that the board of the BFA is working assiduously to ensure that football becomes a power in Barbados. But the process is going to take time. We cannot undo what had been for over 20 years in five years. Be patient. Work with us. I want to assure you that you have quality working with you to ensure that we are a positive organisation in Barbados.” he said.

The night was capped off with a special presentation to Harris unbeknownst to him, made by members of the Executive to celebrate his 40 years in the sport as he was active from 1977.


BFA 2017 Awards


Division Three Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Terry Graham - Police Sports Club, Best Defender: Antonio Graham - Police Sports Club, Best Midfielder: Rivaldo Graham - Police Sports Club, Most Goals: Biko Holloway – Emmerton, Most Valuable Player: Rivaldo Graham - Police Sports Club, 3rd Place: Benfica, 2nd Place: Route 16 United, 1st Place: Police Sports Club


Division Two Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Jamar Harewood - Potential Ballers, Best Defender: Danico Watson – Deacons, Best Midfielder: Ridon Pilgrim-Ramsay – Deacons, Most Goals: Lloyd Wilkinson - Potential Ballers, Most Valuable Player: Lloyd Wilkinson - Potential Ballers, 3rd Place: Haynesville, 2nd Place: Potential Ballers, 1st Place – Deacons


Division One Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Gabriel Layne – Silver Sands, Best Defender: Shanoi Evans – Empire Club, Best Midfielder: Omando McLeod – Empire Club, Most Goals: Shaquille Stewart – Porey Spring, Most Valuable Player – Shaquille Stewart – Porey Spring, 3rd Place: Silver Sands, 2nd Place Porey Spring, 1st Place – Empire FC


Stag Champions Cup Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Omari Eastmond - Weymouth Wales, Best Defender: Kemar Bartlett - Weymouth Wales, Best Midfielder: Ackeel Applewaite – Paradise, Most Goals: Riviere Williams - Weymouth Wales, Most Valuable Player: Riviere Williams - Weymouth Wales, 3rd Place: Notre Dame, 2nd Place: Paradise, 1st Place: Weymouth Wales


Referee Awards

Junior Referee of the Year: Kevon Clarke, Assistant Referee, 2018 FIFA Selectee, Senior Referee of the Year: Edwin Adams, National 1 Referee,



Women’s Premier League Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Cadijah Mars – UWI Blackbirds, Best Defender: Shonna Evelyn – UWI Blackbirds, Best Midfielder: Rianna Cyrus – UWI Blackbirds, Most Goals: Felicia Jarvis – Mavericks, 3rd Place: Mavericks, 2nd Place: National Sports Council, 1st Place: U.W.I Blackbirds


Digicel Premier League Awards

Best Goalkeeper: Omari Eastmond – Weymouth Wales, Best Defender: Shane Codrington – BDF Sports Programme, Best Midfielder: Hadan Holligan – Weymouth Wales, Most Goals: Zeco Edmee – Notre Dame, 4th Place: Paradise FC, 3rd Place: Rendezvous, 2nd Place: BDF Sports Programme, 1st Place: Weymouth Wales


Special Awards

Junior Female Player of the Year: Caitlin Padmore – UWI Blackbirds, Junior Male Player of the Year: Dishon Howell – Pro Shottas, Manager of the Year: Alphonso Lewis – Weymouth Wales, Coach of the Year: David Ward – Weymouth Wales, Senior Female Player of the Year: Rianna Cyrus – UWI Blackbirds, Senior Male Player of the Year: Zeco Edmee – Notre Dame, President’s Award: Chadain Greaves – Porey Spring

Untitled Document
Premier League to ...
December 07, 2018
Mavericks go home ...
December 06, 2018
UWI lasses do the ...
December 05, 2018
Guardian Group fin...
December 04, 2018
Empire held to ran...
December 03, 2018
Untitled Document
Untitled Document
© Copyright Barbados Football Association 2018.
All Rights Reserved.